State Board of Education Recognizes West Virginia Schools Of Excellence

August 12, 2004

CHARLESTON, W.Va. –Sixteen West Virginia schools were honored as West Virginia Schools of Excellence Wednesday evening at the Charleston Marriott. The West Virginia Board of Education and the Department of Education recognized the schools for meeting several stringent requirements.  

The Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and implementing advanced and innovated programs.  

“These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious recognition,” said State Superintendent of Schools David Stewart. “The educators and students who attend these Schools of Excellence should be very proud. They are the ones who have achieved this honor.”  

West Virginia’s 2004 Schools of Excellence include: Ashton Elementary School, Mason County; Bunker Hill Elementary School, Berkeley County; Blue Ridge Elementary School, Jefferson County; East Park Elementary School, Marion County; Frametown Elementary School, Braxton County; Lavalette Elementary School, Wayne County; Moorefield Elementary School, Hardy County; Polk Creek Elementary School, Lewis County; Ranson Elementary School, Jefferson County; Reedy Elementary School, Roane County; Scott Teays Elementary School, Putnam County; Crum Middle School, Wayne County; Bridgeport High School, Harrison County; Pike View High School, Mercer County; South Charleston High School, Kanawha County; and Greenbrier East High School Career and Technical Center, Greenbrier County.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.