Technology Conference Capped Off With Awards Luncheon

August 06, 2004

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The Statewide Technology Conference concluded its three-day event with an awards luncheon that honored recipients from across the state.  

The Making It Happen Awards were presented to three individuals who work in various areas of technology. Henry Blosser, the director for the West Virginia Network, Dr. Jan Fox, vice president of Information and Technology at Marshall University, and Phil Weikle, the Chief Technology Officer for the West Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission, were awarded the famous pink and black jackets for the Making it Happen Award.  

Making It Happen is a nationally recognized program that honors those across the country who have made a difference in providing leadership to implement technology. Nine years ago, Kathy Hurley and Deb deVries, two business vice presidents of educational software companies, founded the program.  

West Virginia University Area Academy Training Center and Cisco Systems presented plaques to two Cisco Academy Instructors and their dedication to West Virginia students. David Soltesz and Brian Testerman, both Academy Instructors, have demonstrated their dedication to students by preparing them for college or the workplace.  

The Network Academy program delivers web-based content, online assessment, student performance tracking, hands-on labs, instructor training and support and preparation for industry standard certifications.  

The Gates Foundation Leadership Awards were presented to nine counties for completing the requirements of the LEAD (Learning Education Administration from a Distance) Project. The LEAD project provides superintendents and principals in public and private schools with access to quality leadership development focused on whole systems change and technology integration.  

The following counties had a 100 percent participation rate:  

· Braxton County Schools – Carolyn Long, Superintendent · Calhoun County Schools – Michael Offutt, Principal · Clay County Schools – Jerry Linkinoggor, Superintendent · Pocahontas County Schools – Norman Alderman, Technology Coordinator · Preston County Schools – John Lofink, Superintendent · Roane County Schools – Foster Kerby, Technology Coordinator · Tucker County Schools – Deby Calhoun, Technology Coordinator and Curriculum Director · Wirt County Schools – John McKown, Superintendent, and Daniel Metz, Curriculum Director · Wood County Schools – Bob Matthews, Technology Coordinator, and Bob Harris, Assistant Superintendent  

For more information regarding any of these awards, please contact Brenda Williams, Executive Director for the Office of Technology, at (304) 558-7880.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.