State Board Appoints Newest Member to Commission for Professional Teaching Standards

June 11, 2004

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - The West Virginia Board of Education has named a new member to the Commission for Professional Teaching Standards. Valerie Roberts of Vienna, Wood County, was selected to serve on the advisory body.  

Roberts has been an instructor at Parkersburg South High School since 2000. She also has served as an instructor at West Virginia University – Parkersburg and VanDevender Junior High School. She is currently co-president for the Wood County Education Association as well as president of the West Virginia State Gifted Association.  

Three current members were reappointed to the Commission. Esther Lauderman, Ann Livesay and Dr. Larry Parsons will continue their service to the CPTS for an additional term of three years.  

The Higher Education Policy Commission recently appointed Dr. Robert Harrison, Jr. to the Commission.  

Comprised of 21 members, the CPTS was established in 1997 to form an alliance between the West Virginia Board of Education and the education profession. It serves in an advisory capacity to the State Board on matters relating to teacher preparation, certification, licensure and professional development.  

The CPTS has a mission of ensuring that competent educators who meet rigorous preparation and licensure requirements serve every student in West Virginia. The commission also recommends to the State Board of Education standards and practices for the development and approval of preparation programs and licensure.  

The members of the Commission, who are representatives of the education community, come from around the state and serve rotating terms.  

The State Board also appointed Donna Wertz Ream to the Educator Preparation Review Board. Ream is a kindergarten teacher at Lewisburg Elementary. She holds teacher certification in early childhood education and elementary education. Ream has also received her certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. In 2001, she was named the West Virginia Teacher of the Year.  

For more information about the CPTS and the EPRB, contact Dr. Karen Huffman, Executive Director for the West Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Professional Preparation at (304) 558-7826.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.