15 WV Schools of Excellence Are at the Top of Their Class

June 02, 2004

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - State Schools Superintendent Dr. David Stewart announced today that 15 schools have been designated West Virginia Schools of Excellence.  

The Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and implementing advanced and innovated programs.  

"The teachers and students at these distinguished schools truly have something to celebrate. They have worked very hard to earn these awards," said Stewart. "The schools recognized have continually raised the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious award."  

West Virginia's 2004 Schools of Excellence are:  

Ashton Elementary School - Mason County Bunker Hill Elementary School - Berkeley County Polk Creek Elementary School - Lewis County Scott Teays Elementary School - Putnam County Reedy Elementary School - Roane County East Park Elementary School - Marion County Lavalette Elementary School - Wayne County Blue Ridge Elementary School - Jefferson County Ranson Elementary School - Jefferson County Frametown Elementary School - Braxton County Moorefield Elementary School - Hardy County Crum Middle School - Wayne County South Charleston High School - Kanawha County Pikeview High School - Mercer County Bridgeport High School - Harrison County  

For more information regarding West Virginia Schools of Excellence, please contact Mr. Tony Smedley, Executive Director for the Office of Human Resources, at (304) 558-3401.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.