West Virginia Announces Eligible Reading First Counties

August 29, 2003

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - State Schools Superintendent David Stewart announced today the West Virginia counties that are eligible for No Child Left Behind Reading First funds. Approximately $5 million per year will be awarded to the eligible counties, which will participate in a competitive grant process in the fall. Subgrants will encompass a three year frame.  

Counties will design reading instruction based on scientific research. Reading first subgrants will include assessments, instructional programs and materials, professional development, access to print, management teams and evaluation.  

Eligible counties include: Calhoun, Doddridge, Fayette, Gilmer, Hampshire, Hardy, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, Mercer, Mineral, Monongalia, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Preston, Roane, Summers, Taylor, Tucker, Upsher and Wetzel.  

For more information regarding West Virginia’s Reading First program, contact Beverly Kingery, Reading First project director, at (304) 558-7805, or bkingery@access.k12.wv.us.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.