CPTS Honors Colleagues for Service and Dedication to Education

April 29, 2003

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - Five members of the West Virginia Commission for Professional Teaching Standards (CPTS) were honored Monday evening for their service and commitment to the education community.  

CPTS GroupWilliam Deaton, Pete Dougherty, Bonita Gonzales, John Mowrer and Leon Pilewski were recognized during a reception at the Embassy Suites for their service to the Commission.  

Comprised of 19 members, the CPTS was established in 1997 to form an alliance between the West Virginia Board of Education and the education profession. It serves in an advisory capacity to the State Board on matters relating to teacher preparation, certification, licensure and professional development.  

The CPTS has a mission of ensuring that competent educators who meet rigorous preparation and licensure requirements serve every student in West Virginia. The commission also recommends to the State Board of Education standards and practices for the development and approval of preparation programs and licensure.  

The members of the Commission, who are representatives of the education community, come from around the state and serve rotating terms.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.