J.D. Morris of Clay Elected President of WV Board of Education

July 11, 2002

J.D. Morris of Clay County was elected president of the West Virginia Board of Education today at the conclusion of its monthly meeting held at West Liberty State College. Jim MacCallum of Boone County was elected vice president, and Ron Spencer of Doddridge County was elected secretary.  

Morris, who recently retired as president of the Clay County Bank, will serve his second term as the state board president. His first term as president was in 2000. Morris has been a member of the board since 1998.  

Prior to his appointment to the State Board, Morris served on the Clay County Board of Education for 27 years, 23 years as its president. He has also served as president of the West Virginia School Boards Association, past president of Group IV West Virginia Bankers Association and Central West Virginia Chapter Bank Administration Institute.  

Vice president Jim MacCallum is an attorney in Madison, and Secretary Ron Spencer is a businessman in Smithburg.  

The West Virginia Board of Education is established in the West Virginia Constitution and is vested with supervision of the state’s elementary and secondary public schools. State board members are appointed by the Governor and serve for overlapping nine-year terms.

For more information visit:
J.D.Morris Biography