Character Education Pilot Sites Announced

July 08, 2002

The West Virginia Department of Education, Office of Student Services and Assessment, is pleased to announce the new pilot sites for the Partnerships in Character Education Pilot Project through the United States Department of Education. The new pilot sites will serve for the remainder of the grant period, which ends May 2005.  

The West Virginia Department of Education was awarded a one million dollar grant to be used from May 2001 to May 2005 for the Partnerships in Character Education Pilot Project. This funding is to be used primarily for staff development of local school systems and to provide funding for implementing character education through sub grants.  

Each site submitted a grant application for review. The criteria for selection were based on the following goals:  

To introduce students to the principles of character education, to develop strong character in students  

To provide staff development for teachers and administrators in strategies for integration of character education into the existing curriculum with an emphasis on the core character traits: respect, responsibility, caring, citizenship, justice and fairness, and honesty  

To help create and sustain partnerships between schools and community to further enhance character education at the local level  

To provide technical assistance to the entire school community to ensure alignment of the character education initiative with state initiatives  

To ensure other accountability for effective state and local school system use of funds for the integration of character development.  

The pilots sites are:

CountySchool(s) FundedContact Person
Mercer CountyPrinceton PrimaryDarlene Spencer
Wyoming CountyBaileysville Grade School Glen Fork Grade SchoolSid Bradford
Mingo CountyCounty WideW.C. Totten
Mason County Point Pleasant MiddleRita Cooper
Wayne CountyBuffalo Elementary Vinson Middle Kellogg Elementary Buffalo MiddleJan Hackney
Nicholas CountyNicholas County High Summersville Jr.High Summersville Elementary Mt. Nebo Elementary Mt. Lookout Elementary Zela Elementary Dixie Elementary Birch River Elementary Muddlety ElementaryDamon Hanshaw
Braxton CountyBraxton County MiddleJean Bulka
Ritchie CountyHarrisville Elementary Creed Collins Elementary Smithville Elementary Ellenboro Elementary Ritchie County Middle Ritchie County HighLinda Campbell
Jackson CountyHenry J. Kaiser Elementary Ravenswood Grade Ravenswood Middle Ravenswood HighPamela Yearego
Preston CountyPreston County HighEdna Rothwell
RESA 7West Milford Elementary Bridgeport Middle Liberty High Lynn Bennett
Morgan CountyBerkeley Springs High Warm Springs Middle Widmyer Elementary SchoolGeorge Ward
Jefferson CountyBlue Ridge Elementary C.W. Shipley Elementary North Jefferson Elementary Page Jackson Elementary Ranson Elementary Shepherdstwon Elementary South Jefferson Elementary T.A. Lowery Elementary Wright Denny Elementary Sherry Hetzel
RESA 8Dorcas Elementary Moorefield Middle Brandywine Elementary Augusta ElementaryDonna Kuhn

In addition to the nine "Lighthouse Pilot Sites" selected last year, there are now 23 pilot sites for the entire character education project. If you would like further information concerning the grant program, contact Lisa Burton, Coordinator in the Office of Student Services and Assessment, or 304-558-2546.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.