18 WV Schools are Recognized for Excellence

May 24, 2002

State Superintendent Dr. David Stewart announced today that five schools have named West Virginia Blue Ribbon winners, and 13 others have been designated West Virginia Schools of Excellence.  

The Blue Ribbon schools are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, and documented student achievement.  

Schools of Excellence are chosen for exhibiting improvement in student achievement, reduction in dropout rates, raising standardized test scores, and implementing advanced or innovative programs.  

West Virginia’s Blue Ribbon winners are: Berlin McKinney Elementary, Wyoming County; Riverside Elementary, Mingo County; West Teays Elementary, Putnam County; South Jefferson Elementary, Jefferson County; and Washington Lands Elementary, Marshall County.  

West Virginia’s 2002 School of Excellence winners are: Robert C. Byrd High, Harrison County; Wheeling Park High, Ohio County; Belington Middle, Barbour County; Warm Springs Middle, Morgan County; Anna Jarvis Elementary, Taylor County; Kellogg Elementary, Wayne County; Marlinton Elementary, Pocahontas County; Rivesville Elementary, Marion County; Kenova Elementary, Wayne County; Elk Center Elementary, Kanawha County; Atenville Elementary, Lincoln County; Daniels Elementary, Raleigh County; and the Wyoming County Career and Technical Center.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.