West Virginia Board Of Education Approves Fayette County Facilities Plan

September 07, 2016

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) approved Fayette County School’s revised Comprehensive Education Facilities Plan (CEFP) today during its monthly meeting. Executive Director of the School Building Authority (SBA), David Sneed and Fayette County Superintendent, Terry George presented the plan which was outlined with input from Fayette County citizens.

“Throughout this nine-month process, we learned a lot about Fayette County,” Sneed said. “We implemented a data-driven planning process that allowed the data to guide us with the input of representatives from all areas of Fayette County.”

The School Building Authority created the Fayette County Capital Planning Committee which was comprised of three representatives from each Fayette school including the principal, a member of the school’s community and the chairperson or a representative of its Local School Improvement Council. The committee of 54 met throughout the summer to share ideas which helped develop the final plan.

The revised CEFP includes construction of new buildings, consolidation of existing buildings and closures as follows:

  • A new pre-K through second grade school built in Oak Hill
  • The existing Oak Hill High School will be renovated to include Fayetteville High School’s grade nine through twelve students
  • A new Collins Middle School will be constructed for grades six through grade eight
  • The existing New River Elementary will be reconfigured to accommodate grades three through five
  • The existing Fayetteville High School will be reconfigured to become a pre-K through eighth grade school
  • A new Ansted/Divide Elementary will be constructed for grades pre-K through five
  • The existing Midland Trail High School will become a middle/high school
  • A new pre-K through eight school will be built at Meadow Bridge
  • A portion of Meadow Bridge High students will be redistricted to Greenbrier West High School; remaining students will attend Midland Trail High School
  • A portion of Valley High School students will be redistricted to Riverside High School in Kanawha County; remaining Valley High School students will attend Oak Hill High School
  • The existing Valley High School will be reconfigured into a pre-K through eighth grade school

State Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Michael Martirano celebrated the vote as a path forward for the county whose facilities have deteriorated for several years.

“I applaud this data-driven process which resulted in a product supported by both the Fayette County community and the School Building Authority,” Martirano said. “We must do right by kids and our young people in Fayette County deserve better. This vote is a step in the right direction for their future.”

The amended CEFP will be submitted to the SBA board for approval at its quarterly meeting on September 26, 2016. The NEEDs Grant will be submitted by October 1, 2016 and the SBA will award funding for projects on December 12, 2016.

For additional information, contact Kristin Anderson at the West Virginia Department of Education Office of Communications at 304-558-2699 or Kristin.Anderson@k12.wv.us.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.