Science and Math Teachers to Be Honored May 28th at Governor's Mansion

May 25, 1999

An awards reception will be held at 10:30 a.m., Friday, May 28 at the Governor's Mansion to honor the recipients of the 1998 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The four national award winners are:  

Elementary Mathematics Linda McGuire, Weirton Heights Elementary, Hancock County  

Elementary Science Annette DeLuca, Tucker Valley Elementary Middle, Tucker County  

Secondary Mathematics Donna Landin, Hurricane Middle, Putnam County  

Secondary Science Cindy Willis, Clay County High  

The state-level awardees are:  

Elementary Mathematics Deborah Prezioso, Watson Elementary, Marion County Wendy Speer, Weirton Heights Elementary, Hancock County  

Elementary Science Linda Fonner, New Martinsville School, Wetzel County William Green, Lewisburg Elementary, Greenbrier County  

Secondary Mathematics Kenna Barger, Randolph County Vocational Technical Center Gail McClure, DuPont Junior High, Kanawha County  

Secondary Science Dixie Redmond, Rivesville Elementary Middle, Marion County Thomas Wells, Charles Town Junior High, Jefferson County  

The Presidential Awards were established in 1983 by the White House and sponsored by the National Science Foundation. The program identifies outstanding science and mathematics teachers in each state and the four U.S. jurisdictions. National awardees receive a $7,500 National Science Foundation grant to the school, and an expense-paid trip to Washington D.C. for a series of recognition events. State winners receive a $750 grant.  

The recipients will be honored on Friday by State Superintendent Dr. Henry Marockie, State Board President Jim MacCallum, and Gov. Cecil Underwood.  

For more information, contact Phyllis Barnhart or Larry Lamb, WV Department of Education, 304-558-7805.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.