State Young Writers Winners Recognized

March 30, 2001

Eighteen state winners and 330 county winners in the State Young Writers Contest were recognized today in a ceremony at the University of Charleston.  

“This annual competition recognizes excellence in writing by some of West Virginia’s most talented students,” said State Superintendent Dr. David Stewart. “Students in first through 12th grades across the state competed in this program designed to promote writing in West Virginia’s schools.”  

First place winners by grade level include: Joseph Perry, Polk Creek Elementary, Lewis County, first-second; Joseph Ferguson, Wayne Elementary, Wayne County, third-fourth; Beth Bing, Walton Middle, Roane County, fifth-sixth; Sarah Hurt, Glen Fork Grade, Wyoming County, seventh-eighth; Ryan Blankenship, Baileysville High, Wyoming County, ninth-10th; Cullen Hencke, Petersburg High, Grant County, 11th-12th.  

The State Young Writers Contest is sponsored by the West Virginia Department of Education and the West Virginia Writing Project. Other sponsors, including the University of Charleston, the Charleston Daily Mail, the West Virginia English Language Arts Council, Marshall University Graduate College and West Virginia Public Radio, provide volunteer and financial assistance to the program.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.