WVBE Names Members of the Commission on School District Governance and Administration

April 10, 2013

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - The West Virginia Board of Education on Wednesday announced the members of its Commission on School District Governance and Administration.

The group will begin work to review the current governance structure of the 55 county boards of education and the costs that necessitates.

"As part of the education transformation in our state, it will be important to figure out ways our county school boards and administrations can share goods and services across county lines," said state Board of Education President Wade Linger. "If we do this right, students will be the benefactors."

State board member Tom Campbell will serve as the chairman of the commission. Other members will include Tina Combs, West Virginia Board of Education; Sallie Dalton, Greenbrier County superintendent; Doug Lambert, Pendleton County superintendent; Kathy Parker, Braxton County Board of Education and state Parent Teacher Association treasurer; Karen Price, West Virginia Manufacturers Association president; Jack Rossi, managing partner of Arnett Foster Toothman PLLC; Harry G. "Chip" Shaffer, attorney at Shaffer & Shaffer; Bill Smith, Cabell County superintendent, Newt Thomas, ITT Carbon Industries (retired), and Dana Waldo, senior vice president and general manager of West Virginia Frontier Communications.

"We have gathered a group of really talented and caring individuals who are dedicated to improving student achievement in West Virginia public schools," Campbell said. "I am looking forward to rolling up my sleeves and getting to work."

The work of the commission will be part of the state board’s newly formed Local and Regional Efficiencies committee. For more information, contact the Office of Communication at (304) 558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.