Three W.Va. Schools Receive 2012 Blue Ribbon Honor

September 11, 2012

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Three West Virginia schools have been recognized as among America’s best. Bridgeport Middle School in Harrison County, Confidence Elementary School in Putnam County, and Kenna Elementary in Kanawha County are among 269 schools nationwide named by U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan as 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools.  

The program recognizes schools that make significant progress in closing the achievement gap or whose students achieve at very high levels. The schools will be honored later this year in Washington, D.C, where they will receive an award certificate in recognition of the progress they have made. 

“All three of these West Virginia schools have helped students succeed,” said state Superintendent of Schools Jorea Marple. “Their hard work, dedication and commitment to improving teaching and learning can serve as models for others.”  

To qualify, public schools must have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds that dramatically improve student performance on state tests or have students, regardless of background, achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests. Private schools must achieve in the top 10 percent in the nation on national tests to qualify.  

"Our nation has no greater responsibility than helping all children realize their full potential," Duncan said. "Schools honored with the National Blue Ribbon Schools award are committed to accelerating student achievement and preparing students for success in college and careers.  Their work reflects the conviction that every child has promise and that education is the surest pathway to a strong, secure future."

Nearly 7,000 public and private elementary, middle and high schools have been honored as National Blue Ribbon Schools since the program’s inception in 1982. The U.S. Department of Education looks to honor schools where students attain and maintain high academic goals, including those that beat the odds.

For more information, contact the Office of Communication at (304) 558-2699.


Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.