W.Va. to Reward Classroom Innovation

March 14, 2011

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Teachers from 10 schools are the recipients of grants totaling $20,000 as winners in the West Virginia Department of Education’s Thinkfinity contest showing how they’ve incorporated 21st century learning into their classrooms.

Each of the 10 winning entries receive $2,000 grants. The winners are Celia Moore and Benjamin Walker from Greenbrier East High School and David Fleming and Gregory Mills from Greenbrier West High School, Greenbrier County; Trudy Humberson, Bruceton School, Preston County; Karen Kersey, Alban Elementary, Bev Stern, Ruthlawn Elementary, Travis Baldwin, Kanawha County; Robert Lyons, Westside High School, Wyoming County; Frank Bodden and Rebecca Speakman, Ritchie County Middle; Jonathan Baldwin, Bonnie Barker, Doug Cox, Carolyn Elswick, Gene Kuhn, Todd Long and Heather Pettry, Scott High School, Boone County; Dave Ryan, Martinsburg High School, Berkeley County; and Lisa Wilder, Berkeley Springs High, Morgan County.

The contest was funded by the Verizon Foundation.
“This contest shows the creative side of the great teachers West Virginia has in our public schools,” said state Superintendent Jorea Marple. “They have embraced 21st century tools to bring 21st century learning into their classrooms to benefit their students.”
For more information, contact Mark Moore, technology coordinator, at 304-558-7880, or the Office of Communications at 304-558-2699.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.