2010-2011 Schools of Excellence Are Honored

August 11, 2010

CHARLESTON, W.Va. Sixteen West Virginia schools that have earned the prestigious Schools of Excellence award for 2010-2011 were the guests of honor at a banquet Wednesday night at the Clay Center in Charleston. 


“Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor and incorporates 21st century learning skills into the classroom,” said state Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and deserve this recognition.”


Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and implementing advanced and innovated programs.


The 2010-2011 Schools of Excellence and their counties are:
·         Cabell: Milton Elementary and Spring Hill Elementary
·         Greenbrier: Rainelle Elementary and Rupert Elementary
·         Harrison: Bridgeport Middle and Johnson Elementary.
·         Jackson: Ravenswood High
·         McDowell: Fall River Elementary
·         Nicholas: Birch River Elementary
·         Ohio: Bridge Street Middle and Woodsdale Elementary
·         Putnam: Hometown Elementary, Hurricane High and West Teays Elementary
·         Wayne: Spring Valley High School Career and Technical Education Center
·         Wood: Parkersburg High

Individual school applications were reviewed by a panel over a two-day period. Site visits followed to the schools, which provided each visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.  

For more information on West Virginia Schools of Excellence, contact Donna Peduto (304) 558-7010, or the Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699.


Schools of Excellence Picture Gallery


Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.