W.Va. Board of Education Honors Inaugural Innovation Zone Projects

June 09, 2010

CHARLESTON, W.Va.  – The West Virginia Board of Education on Wednesday honored 19 schools and educational partnerships across the state that have been named Innovation Zones.


Earlier this year board members voted to award $500,000 to 16 counties seeking to become the state’s first School Innovation Zones. The School Innovations Zones Act, adopted last year, gives teachers and principals greater control over the curriculum, schedule and staffing in their schools. Schools designated as Innovation Zones essentially become learning laboratories with the flexibility to try innovative strategies.
The projects are
Berkeley County: Berkeley Heights Elementary, $9,100
Boone: Nellis Elementary, $43,825
Braxton: Braxton County High School, $17,320
Cabell: Cabell County Elementary Schools Consortium, $50,000; Cabell County Secondary Schools Consortium, $45,000
Jefferson: Page Jackson Elementary, $6,915

Harrison: Lincoln High School, $6,990

Kanawha: Piedmont Elementary, $27,798; Westside Elementary (consolidated school formed from Chandler and Glenwood elementaries), $33,750

Marshall: Cameron Elementary/High School, $49,000
Mercer: Mercer County Technical School, $30,000
Morgan: Warm Springs Intermediate, $28,255
Nicholas: Cherry River Elementary, $7,625
Ohio: Wheeling Park High School, $11,172
Pleasants: Belmont Elementary, $45,000
Putnam: Hometown Elementary, $10,900; Putnam County High Schools Consortium, $24,000
Randolph: Beverly Elementary, $42,500
Webster: Hacker Valley School, $10,850
“Innovation zones allow schools to adapt to changing times and embrace new ideas and new teaching strategies so that our children prosper in the global economy of the 21st century,” said state Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine.
For more information, contact Donna Peduto, Innovation Zones coordinator, at 304-558-3199, or the Office of Communications at 304-558-2699.

Innovation Zones picture gallery

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.