West Virginia Schools of Excellence Announced

May 25, 2010

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - Sixteen West Virginia Schools have earned the prestigious Schools of Excellence award for the 2010 school year.

Schools of Excellence are selected based on providing a rigorous and challenging curriculum; a safe and drug-free learning environment; participatory leadership; active teaching and learning; an environment that strengthens teacher skills; documented student achievement; and advanced and innovated programs.

“Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor across the curriculum,” said West Virginia Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious recognition.”
The 2010 Schools of Excellence are:
Milton Elementary Cabell County Schools
Spring Hill Elementary Cabell County Schools
Rainelle Elementary Greenbrier County Schools
Rupert Elementary Greenbrier County Schools
Bridgeport Middle Harrison County Schools
Johnson Elementary Harrison County Schools
Ravenswood High Jackson County Schools
Fall River Elementary McDowell County Schools
Birch River Elementary Nicholas County Schools
Bridge Street Middle Ohio County Schools
Woodsdale Elementary Ohio County Schools
Hometown Elementary Putnam County Schools
Hurricane High School Putnam County Schools
West Teays Elementary Putnam County Schools
Spring Valley High School/Career and Technical Education Center Wayne County Schools
Parkersburg High Wood County Schools

Individual school applications were reviewed by a reading panel over a two-day period resulting in site visits. During the site visits, all schools provided each visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.

For more information about West Virginia Schools of Excellence, contact Donna Peduto, Division of Educator Quality and System Support, at (304) 558-3199, or the Office of Communications at (304) 558-2699. 

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.