2008-09 Schools of Excellence Announced

June 02, 2008

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Eight West Virginia schools have earned the prestigious Schools of Excellence award for the 2008-09 school year.

The Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and the implementation of advanced and innovated programs.

“Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor across the curriculum,” said West Virginia Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious recognition.”

The 2008-09 Schools of Excellence are:

Fayette County: Meadow Bridge Elementary

Kanawha County: DuPont Middle School

Monroe County: Monroe County Technical Center

Morgan County: Pleasant View Elementary

Putnam County: George Washington Middle School

Raleigh County: Stanaford Elementary

Ritchie County: Creed Collins Elementary

Wayne County: Buffalo Elementary

Individual school applications were reviewed by a reading panel over a two-day period resulting in seven site visits. During the site visits, all schools provided each site visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.

For more information regarding West Virginia Schools of Excellence, please contact David Perine, Executive Director for the Office of Human Resources, at (304) 558-3401.


Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.