Skip Navigation
Main Content

2007-08 Schools of Excellence Announced

May 25, 2007

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Thirteen West Virginia schools have earned the prestigious Schools of Excellence for 21st Century Learning award for the 2007–2008 school year.  

Schools of Excellence for 21st Century Learning are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and implementing advanced and innovated programs.  

“Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor across the curriculum,” said State Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and they deserve this prestigious recognition.”  

The 2007-08 Schools of Excellence are:  


Mercer County: Bluewell Elementary, Oakvale School  


Boone County: Scott High School  

Kanawha County: Alban Elementary, Mary Ingles Elementary, Ruffner Elementary  

Putnam County: Poca Elementary  


Greenbrier County: Western Greenbrier Middle  


Ohio County: Wheeling Park High  


Marion County: Barrackville Elementary/Middle  


Morgan County: Widmyer Elementary  


Institutional Education Programs Pressley Ridge at White Oak Village  

Division of Technical and Adult Education Academy of Careers & Technology  

Individual school applications were review by a reading panel over a two-day period resulting in 13 site visits.  

During the site visits, all 13 schools provided each site visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.  

For more information regarding West Virginia Schools of Excellence for 21st Century Learning Recognition Program, please contact David Perine, Executive Director for the Office of Human Resources, at (304) 558-2702.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.