2006 Schools of Excellence To Be Honored

August 08, 2006

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Twenty-two West Virginia schools that have earned the prestigious Schools of Excellence award for the 2006-2007 school year are to be honored Wednesday, Aug. 9, 2006, at 7 p.m. at the Charleston Marriott.  

Schools of Excellence are selected based on the following criteria: a rigorous and challenging curriculum, a safe and drug-free learning environment, participatory leadership, active teaching and learning, an environment that strengthens teacher skills, documented student achievement and implementing advanced and innovated programs.  

“Rewarding the hard work and dedication of school administrators and teachers is vital as our state increases rigor and incorporates 21st century learning skills into the classroom,” said state Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine. “These schools have continually exceeded the academic bar and deserve this recognition.”  

The 2006-07 Schools of Excellence are: Boone County: Jeffery-Spencer Elementary, Sherman Elementary; Braxton County: Davis Elementary; Cabell County: Cammack Elementary; Grant County: South Branch Career & Technical Center; Greenbrier County: White Sulphur Springs Elementary; Harrison County: Lost Creek Elementary; Kanawha County: Midland Trail Elementary, Point Harmony Elementary, Horace Mann Middle School; Marion County: East Dale Elementary, Jayenne Elementary; McDowell County: Welch Elementary; Ohio County: Triadelphia Middle School; Pendleton County: Brandywine Elementary; Putnam County: Winfield High School; Raleigh County: Crab Orchard Elementary, Shady Spring Elementary; Upshur County: Washington District Elementary; Wayne County: Ceredo Elementary; Wood County: Blennerhassett Junior High, Parkersburg South High School.  

Individual school applications were review by a panel over a two-day period. Site visits followed to the schools, which provided each site visitor with verification and documentation to support a final recommendation for recognition.  

For more information regarding West Virginia Schools of Excellence, contact David Perine, executive director of the Office of Human Resources, at (304) 558-3401.  

See Pictures from Event: http://wvde.state.wv.us/tt/2006/se2006/

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.