Skip Navigation
Main Content

West Virginia Teacher of the Year to be Announced September 13th in Charleston

September 09, 2005

The 2006 West Virginia Teacher of the Year will be announced during a special ceremony on Tuesday, September 13, at the Charleston Marriott at approximately 8:30 p.m. All county teachers of the year will be recognized during the ceremony scheduled to begin at 8 p.m. The West Virginia Teacher of the Year will represent the state at the national level.  

The seven finalists are: Mona Floyd, Raleigh County; Victor Iapalucci, Barbour County, Ann Smith, Greenbrier County, Bridget Call, Mingo County, Laura Baisden, Logan County, Terri Sappington, Monongalia County, and Brenda Clark, Tyler County. Past recipients, including the 2005 West Virginia Teacher of the Year Jason Hughes, Pleasants County, will also be in attendance.  

Paying tribute to educators since 1964, the Teacher of the Year award is the longest, ongoing awards program honoring classroom teachers.  

Be sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.