Main Content
Office of Human Resources logo

West Virginia Teacher of the Year

2015 Teacher of the Year - Gail Adams


2015 Teacher of the Year Guidelines and Application

will be posted January 1, 2015


2014 - 2015 County Teacher of the Year

Tonya Baker, Barbour County Angela Shanholtz, Mineral County
Holly Branch, Berkeley County Scarlette Jackson Moore, Mingo County
Susan Hottle, Boone County Charles "Dusty" Rhodes, Monongalia County
Carrie Ciccolella, Brooke County Tim Hancock, Monroe County
Heather Scarberry, Cabell County Colleen Stotler, Morgan County
Stephanie Haynes, Fayette County Theresa Dennison, Nicholas County
Letisha Kinder, Gilmer County Gail Adams, Ohio County
Lisa Porter, Grant County Stephanie Burns, Pocahontas County
Lisa Bibb, Greenbrier County Tina Kirk, Putnam County
Brenda Omps, Hampshire County Diane White, Randolph County
Betty Smith, Hancock County Rose Murphy, Ritchie County
Jaclyn See, Hardy County Tara Jones, Summers County
Randa Stansberry, Institutional Education Robert King, Jr., Tucker County
Tarah Clark, Jackson County Barbara Maston, Tyler County
Rachel Potts, Jefferson County Connie Scarbrough, Upshur County
Kathi McCormick, Kanawha County Kristi Gibbs, Wayne County
Tammie Adkins, Lincoln County Sandra Dillon Hinerman, Wetzel County
Denise Cross, Logan County Joanna Mulligan, Wood County
Rosetta Epifano, Marshall County Joshua Haza, WVSDB
Howard Mitchell, McDowell County Darlene Osborne, Wyoming County
Susan French, Mercer County

1964-2015 WV State Teacher of the Year

1964 Mabel Nichols, Webster County
Jolanda Cannon, Mineral County
1965 Katherine B. Robinson, Kanawha County 1991 Rae E. McKee, Hampshire County -
(National Teacher of the Year)
1966 Doris R. Bowers, Kanawha County 1992 Beverly Hoffmaster, Berkeley County
1967 H. Dale Ridgway, Tucker County 1993 Deborah Seldomridge, Mineral County
1968 Cecil L. Miller, Raleigh County 1994 Jerry Stover, Clay County
1969 Edythe Reeder, Kanawha County 1995 Germaine Umstead, Ritchie County
1970 Lucille Ross, Hancock County 1996 Jo Ann Harman, Grant County
1971 Beatrice Gladwell, Pocahontas County 1997 Danny Prado, Marshall County
1972 Richard J. Glass, Jr., Monongalia County 1998 Susan Barrett, Nicholas County
1973 Wilbur J. Khun, Wood County 1999 Opal Morse, Mason County
1974 Myrtle Collins, Tyler County 2000 Ede Ashworth, Brooke County
1975 Marilyn Phillips Carpenter, Wood County 2001 Donna Ream, Greenbrier County
1976 Helen G. Reger, Upshur County 2002 Jeanne Gren, Monongalia County
1977 Judy Prozzillo, Marion County 2003 Mary Kay Devono, Harrison County
1978 Florena Colvin, Logan County 2004 David Soltesz, Marshall County
1979 E. Jane Dillard, Logan County 2005 Jason Hughes, Pleasants County
1980 Martha D. Cole, Kanawha County 2006 Bridget Call, Mingo County
1981 Roseanna Reaser, Mercer County 2007 Sarah Morris, Morgan County
1982 Kenneth O. Godwin, Jr., Taylor County 2008 Eric Kincaid, Monongalia County
1983 Rosemary Phillips, Marion County 2009 MaryLu Hutchins, Ohio County
1984 Jessie Sue Prickett Roberts, McDowell County 2010 Gretchen Shaffer Gibson, Monongalia County
1985 Blanche R. Dudley, Harrison County 2011 Drema McNeal, Raleigh County
1986 Jane Gallimore McKee, Logan County 2012 Robert Morris, Clay County
1987 Anita M. Hardesty, Mineral County 2013 Mike Funkhouser, Hardy County
1988 Esther Lauderman, Wood County 2014 Erin Sponaugle, Berkeley County
1989 Teresa Hardman, Kanawha County 2015 Gail Adams, Ohio County