Skip Navigation
LINKS
Main Content

Acknowledgements

Advisor/Advisee Task Force
Barbara Brady Ashcraft
School Counseling Coordinator
West Virginia Department of Education
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East, Bldg. 6 R-221
Charleston, WV  25305
phone: 304-957-9833 ext. 53004
fax: 304-558-3946
bashcraft@access.k12.wv.us
Therese Brackett
Freshman/Sophomore Counselor
Webster County High School
1 Highlander Drive
Upperglade, WV  26266
phone: 304-226-5772
fax: 226-5792
tbracket@access.k12.wv.us
Iestyn Bright
School Counselor
Tucker County High School
Rt. 1, Box 153
Hambleton, WV 26269
phone: 304-478-2651
fax: 304-478-4357
ibright@access.k12.wv.us
Shelly DeBerry
Guidance Counselor
Martinsburg High School
701 S. Queen Street
Martinsburg, WV 25401
phone: 304-267-3535
fax: 304-267-3536
sdeberry@access.k12.wv.us
Dr. Penny Fisher
Director of Adolescent, Technical & Adult Eduction
Putnam County Schools
9 Courthouse Drive
Winfield, WV 25213
phone: 304-586-0500
pfisher@access.k12.wv.us
Cathy A. Grewe
Counselor
Jackson Junior High School
1601 34th Street
Vienna, WV 26105
phone: 304-420-9551
fax: 304-295-9954
cgrewe@access.k12.wv.us
Deborah Hall
School-to-Work Facilitator
Wyoming County Schools
P. O. Box 69
Pineville, WV 24874
phone: 304-732-6262 ext. 103
fax: 304-732-7226
dbmhall@access.k12.wv.us
Damon Hanshaw
Assistant Superintendent
Nicholas County Schools
400 Old Main Drive
Summersville, WV 26651
phone: 304-872-3611 ext. 135
fax: 304-872-4626
dhanshaw@access.k12.wv.us
Christina Harper
Counselor
Clay-Battelle Middle/High School
Drawer A
Blacksville, WV 26521
phone: 304-432-8208
fax: 304-432-8189
cmharper@access.k12.wv.us
Tracy Heck
Assistant Principal
Martinsburg High School
701 South Queen Street
Martinsburg, WV 25401
phone: 304-267-3530
fax: 304-267-3536
theck@access.k12.wv.us
Lori Helmick
Counselor
St. Marys High School
1002 Second Street
St. Marys, WV 26170
phone: 304-684-3256
fax: 304-684-3859
lhelmick@access.k12.wv.us
Steven Holley
Teacher
Ripley High School
2 School Street
Ripley, WV 25271
Phone: 304-372-7355
fax: 304-372-7353
sholley@access.k12.wv.us
Patrick Leggett
Counselor
Point Pleasant High School
Rt. 1, Box 4
Point Pleasant, WV 26456
phone: 304-675-1350
fax: 304-675-7480
pleggett@access.k12.wv.us
Tina Matheny
Freshman Counselor
Ripley High School
2 School Street
Ripley, WV 25271
phone: 304-372-7355
fax: 304-372-7353
tmatheny@access.k12.wv.us
Betsy Mullett
Director, Educational Support Services
Monongalia County Schools
13 South High Street
Morgantown, WV 26501
phone: 304-291-9210 ext. 506
fax: 304-296-1379
emullet@access.k12.wv.us
Deborah Shaw
Teacher
Martinsburg High School
701 South Queen Street
Martinsburg, WV 25401
phone: 304-267-3536
Fax: 304-267-3536

Content Area Subcommittees

Personal/Social Academics Career
Patrick Leggett - Chairperson
pleggett@access.k12.wv.us
Damon Hanshaw - Chairperson
dhanshaw@access.k12.wv.us
Cathy Grewe - Chairperson
cgrewe@access.k12.wv.us
Debbie Hall
dbmhall@access.k12.wv.us
Christina Harper
cmharper@access.k12.wv.us
Lori Helmick
lhelmick@access.k12.wv.us
Shelly DeBerry
sdeberry@access.k12.wv.us
Steven Holley
sholley@access.k12.wv.us
Tina Matheny
tmatheny@access.k12.wv.us
Tracy Heck theck@access.k12.wv.us Therese Brackett tbracket@access.k12.wv.us
Deborah Shaw dshaw@access.k12.wv.us

Consultants

Content Standards and Lesson Development

Lynn Bennett
Bennett Educational Consulting
18 Meadow Lane
Bridgeport, WV 26330
304-842-4166
FAX - 304-842-8462
Cell - 304-282-2427
lynnbenettconsulting@yahoo.com
Barbara Brady Ashcraft
School Counseling Coordinator
West Virginia Department of Education
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East, Bldg. 6 R-221
Charleston, WV  25305
phone: 304-957-9833 ext. 53004
fax: 304-558-3946
bashcraft@access.k12.wv.us
Rhea A. Varian
School Counselor, George Washington Middle
rvarian@access.k12.wv.us
Melanie Rumer
School Counselor
scrapbookmom@suddenlink.net
Damon Hanshaw
Assistant Superintendent
Nicholas County Schools
400 Old Main Drive
Summersville, WV 26651
phone: 304-872-3611 ext. 135
fax: 304-872-4626
dhanshaw@access.k12.wv.us
Lori Helmick
Counselor
St. Marys High School
1002 Second Street
St. Marys, WV 26170
phone: 304-684-3256
fax: 304-684-3859
lhelmick@access.k12.wv.us
Iestyn Bright
Counselor
Rt. 1 Box 156
Montrose, WV 26283
iestynbright@gmail.com
 

Evaluation, Planning and Online Training Tools

Donna S. Bell, Senior Project Manager
National Center for Family Literacy
325 W. Main Street Suite 300
Louisville, KY 40202
Phone: 502-584-1133 ext. 193
Fax: 502-584-0172 www.famlit.org
Appalachian Regional Comprehensive Center Partner
Brooke Wilson, Research Specialist
National Center for Family Literacy (NCFL)
325 W. Main Street, Suite 300
Louisville, KY 40202
(502) 584-1133, ext.113 bwilson@famlit.org
Appalachian Regional Comprehensive Center Partner
Larry J. White
Assistant Director/Psychometrician
Lead Research Specialist
Office of Assessment and Accountability
West Virginia Department of Education
lwhite@access.k12.wv.us
304-558-2546/304-558-1613
Beth Cipoletti, Ed.D., Coordinator
Office of Assessment and Accountability
West Virginia Department of Education
Building 6, Room 722
1900 Kanawha Blvd, East
Charleston, WV 25305-0330
Office: 304-558-2546
Jeannine Branch
Appalachian Regional Comprehensive Center/Edvantia (304) 288-8237
(304) 594-1409 Fax
jeannine.branch@edvantia.org
 

National Best Practices and Professional Development

Brian Whitehead (brian.whitehead@flippingroup.com)
Capturing Kids Hearts
Janice Wong (janicew@careercrusing.com)
Pam Gabbard (pgabbard@vci.net)
Career Cruising www.careercruising.com
Linda Dove
Director, Urban Initiatives
Southern Regional Education Board
linda.dove@sreb.org
Amie Fazalare (fazalare@fairmontstate.edu)
Jason Groves (jgroves1@fairmontstate.edu)
"Gear Up: Get A Life Program"
Deb Hartshorn dh@roadstosuccess.org
West Virginia Director
Roads To Successwww.roadstosuccess.org
Woods at Mingo Bottom
237 Wells Lock Road
Elizabeth, WV 26143
Phone: 304.481.9960
Fax: 304.275.1013

Reviewers
Betty Jo Jordan, Executive Director
Office of Technical & Secondary Program Improvement
bjjordan@access.k12.wv.us
Paula Staley, Assistant Director
Office of Technical & Secondary Program Improvement
pstayley@access.k12.wv.us
Marian Covey, Coordinator
Office of Technical & Secondary Program Improvement
mecovey@access.k12.wv.us
Cynthia Kolsun, Coordinator
Office of Technical & Secondary Program Improvement
ckolsun@access.k12.wv.us
James Carter, Director
Office of Planning, Evaluation, Special Programs & Support Services
jcarter@access.k12.wv.us
Dr. Bob Rubenstein, Professor of Counseling
Office of Technical & Secondary Program Improvement
brubenstein@marshall.edu
Victoria Stone, Professor of Counseling
Office of Technical & Secondary Program Improvement
victoria.stone@mail.wvu.edu