Teacher in Residence Programs

A Teacher-in-Residence Program is an intensively supervised and mentored residency program for prospective teachers during their senior year that refines their professional practice skills and helps them gain the teaching experience needed to demonstrate competence as a prerequisite to certification to teach in the West Virginia public schools. Teacher-in-residence programs require authorization of the WVBE pursuant to W. Va. Code §18A-3-1(e).

Who can propose a program?

An institution of higher education with a WVBE approved teacher preparation program in the state may enter into an agreement with a county board of education to establish a teacher-in-residence program.


Minimum Requirements


Existing Programs:

Alderson-Broaddus College -- Barbour County.

Bluefield State College -- McDowell County

Concord University -- Fayette County, McDowell County, Mercer County, Raleigh County, Summers County, Wyoming County

Fairmont State University -- Berkeley County, Doddrige County, Hardy County

Marshall University -- Boone County, MasonCounty, Mingo County, Putnam County

WV State University -- Boone County, Clay County, Kanawha County, Mingo County, Putnam County, Roane County

WV Wesleyan College -- Upshur County


To submit a program please contact Robert Hagerman rhagerma@k12.wv.us or Linda Bragg lnbragg@k12.wv.us in the Office of Educator Effectiveness and Licensure.