Board Conference Room

Capitol Building 6, Room 353

1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East

Charleston, West Virginia

September 23, 2009

I. Call to Order

President Priscilla M. Haden called the meeting of the West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) to order at 10:00 a.m. on September 23, 2009, in Capitol Building 6, Room 353, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia.

The following members were present:  President Haden, Vice President Jenny N. Phillips (via telephone), Secretary Robert W. Dunlevy (via telephone), Burma Hatfield (via telephone), Lowell E. Johnson (via telephone), L. Wade Linger Jr. (via telephone), and Gayle C. Manchin.  Members absent were Delores W. Cook, Barbara N. Fish, and ex officios Steven L. Paine, State Superintendent of Schools, Brian E. Noland, Chancellor, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and James L. Skidmore, Chancellor, West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education.

II. Approval of Agenda

Upon motion by Mrs. Manchin, seconded by Ms. Phillips, the Board unanimously approved the agenda.

III. Policy 2512, Instructional Supports for Third and Eighth

Grade Students to Achieve Critical Skills

Ms. Carla Williamson, Executive Director, WVDE Office of Instruction presented Policy2512 for the Board’s consideration.  Policy 2512 establishes rules to effectuate the provision of W. Va. Code §18-2E-10, Critical skills instruction support for third and eighth graders.  The purpose of this policy is to provide rules that encourage and assist county boards in operating critical skills instructional support for students in grades three and eight who are not mastering language arts and mathematics adequately for success at the next grade level.  

Upon motion by Dr. Johnson, seconded by Ms. Phillips, the Board unanimously approved Policy 2512 as amended.  (Copies appended to Official Minutes, Attachments A and B.)

IV. Policy 3236, Education Innovation Zones

Ms. Donna Peduto, Coordinator, WVDE Office of Organizational Effectiveness and Leadership, presented Policy 3236 for the Board’s consideration.   House Bill 109 (Innovation Zones) was passed by the West Virginia Legislature and became effective July, 2009.  This legislation authorizes the West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) to develop a policy to provide regulations for designation, selection and implementation of innovation zones.  The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for implementation of school innovation zones to improve educational performance in a manner that provides greater flexibility from policy and law for principals and teachers to meet the needs of a diverse population of students. 

Upon motion by Ms. Phillips, seconded by Ms. Hatfield, the Board unanimously approved Policy 3236 as amended.  (Copies appended to Official Minutes, Attachments C and D.)

V. Appointments to WVBE Innovation Zone Selection Committee 

President Haden appointed Dr. Johnson and Mr. Linger to the WVBE Innovation Zone Committee.  Superintendent Paine will name the remaining appointees at a future date.  

VI. Future Meetings 

The WVBE’s Innovation Zone Selection Committee will meet October 7, 2009, in Charleston, West Virginia.  The next regular meeting of the WVBE will be held October 7-8, 2009, in Charleston, West Virginia.  The WVBE’s Wellness Committee will meet October 22, 2009, in Morgantown, West Virginia.

VII. Adjournment

President Haden declared the meeting adjourned at 10:19 a.m.

Minutes approved by the Board on October 8, 2009.


Priscilla M. Haden, President 


Robert W. Dunlevy, Secretary

  Minutes were recorded by

      Virginia M. Harris



 PAGE - 2 -