Board Conference Room

Capitol Building 6, Room 353

1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East

Charleston, West Virginia

August 5, 2009

I. Call to Order

President Priscilla M. Haden called the meeting of the West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) to order at 2:04 p.m. on August 5, 2009, in Capitol Building 6, Room 353, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia.

The following members were present:  President Haden, Vice President Jenny N. Phillips (via telephone), Secretary Robert W. Dunlevy (via telephone), Delores W. Cook (via telephone), Barbara N. Fish (via telephone), Lowell E. Johnson, L. Wade Linger Jr., and Gayle C. Manchin (via telephone), and ex officio Steven L. Paine, State Superintendent of Schools.  Members absent were Burma Hatfield and ex officios Brian E. Noland, Chancellor, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and James L. Skidmore, Chancellor, West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education.

II. Approval of Agenda

Upon motion by Ms. Phillips, seconded by Mrs. Manchin, the Board unanimously approved the agenda.

III. Employment of Director of the

South Branch Career and Technical Center

Dr. Stanley Hopkins (distributed information), Assistant State Superintendent of Schools, Division of Technical and Adult Education Services, provided a brief overview of the interviews, provided the committee’s recommendation, and addressed a question posed by Mrs. Fish.

Upon motion by Dr. Johnson, seconded by Ms. Phillips, the Board unanimously approved the employment of Mr. Mike Kubina as Director of the South Branch Career and Technical Center effective August 6, 2009.   (Copy appended to Official Minutes, Attachment A.)

IV. Future Meetings 

The following West Virginia Board of Education Committees will meet in Charleston, West Virginia:   Wellness Committee will meet August 7, 2009, and Communications Committee will meet August 10, 2009.  The West Virginia Board of Education will meet August 12 and 13, 2009 in Charleston, West Virginia.  

V. Adjournment

President Haden declared the meeting adjourned at 2:10 p.m.

Minutes approved by the Board on September 10, 2009.


Priscilla M. Haden, President 


Robert W. Dunlevy, Secretary

  Minutes were recorded by

      Virginia M. Harris



 PAGE - 2 -