Heritage Farm Museum and Village

3300 Harvey Road

Huntington, West Virginia

October 22, 2008

I. Call to Order

  President Delores W. Cook called the professional development/training session of the West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) to order at 1:00 p.m. on October 22, 2008, in Heritage Hall at the Heritage Farm Museum and Village, 3300 Harvey Road, Huntington, West Virginia.

The following members were present:  President Cook, Vice President Priscilla M. Haden, Secretary Jenny N. Phillips, Barbara N. Fish, Burma Hatfield, Lowell E. Johnson, Gayle C. Manchin, and Ronald B. Spencer, and ex officio Steven L. Paine, State Superintendent of Schools.  Members absent were Robert W. Dunlvey, and ex officios Brian E. Noland, Chancellor, West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and James L. Skidmore, Chancellor, West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education.

II. Welcome

Dr. Stephen J. Kopp, President of Marshall University, Mr. A. Michael Perry and Mr. Audy Perry, Heritage Farm Museum and Village, welcomed the Board.

III. Approval of Agenda

Upon motion by Ms. Haden, seconded by Ms. Phillips, Board unanimously approved the agenda. 

IV. The Constitutional Authority of the West Virginia Board of Education

Ms. Kelli Talbott, Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, provided an overview of the Board’s constitutional authority.

V. Break

President Cook called for a break at 2:37 p.m.  

VI. Call to Order

President Cook called the meeting back to order at 2:50 p.m. 

- 2 -

VII. The Role of the West Virginia Board of Education in School Consolidation

Ms. Heather Deskins, General Counsel to the Board and the Department, provided an overview of the Board’s role and responsibility in school consolidation issues.

VIII. Future Meetings

The Board’s professional development/training session will continue on October 23, 2008 in Huntington, West Virginia.

IX. Adjournment

Upon motion by Ms. Hatfield, seconded by Ms. Phillips and unanimously carried, the Board adjourned at 3:30 p.m.


   Minutes approved by the Board on December 11, 2008.


Delores W. Cook, President


Jenny N. Phillips, Secretary

   Minutes were recorded by

         Virginia M. Harris

       Secretary to the Board.