Board Conference Room

Capitol Building 6, Room 353

1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East

Charleston, West Virginia

January 12, 2006


Call to Order

President Lowell E. Johnson called the meeting of the West Virginia Board of Education (WVBE) to order at 9:02 a.m. on January 12, 2006, in Capitol Building 6, Room 353, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia.

The following members were present: President Johnson, Vice President Delores W. Cook, Secretary Priscilla M. Haden, Robert W. Dunlevy, Burma Hatfield, Jenny N. Phillips and Ronald B. Spencer, and ex officios Steven L. Paine, State Superintendent of Schools, Bruce C. Flack, Interim Chancellor, the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and James L. Skidmore, Chancellor, the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education. Members absent were Barbara N. Fish and Sheila M. Hamilton.


Approval of Agenda

Upon motion by Ms. Phillips, seconded by Mr. Dunlevy, the Board unanimously approved the agenda.


Consent Agenda

Upon motion by Ms. Haden, seconded by Mrs. Cook, the Board unanimously approved items on the Consent Agenda. (Copies appended to Official Minutes, Attachments A-I.)

Meeting minutes of December 14 and 15, 2005 (Attachment A)

Budget supplement and transfer addendum requests for the month of December 2005 as follows: total supplements = $59,296,210 and total transfers = $7,054,226 (Attachment B)

Amendment to the Fayette County CEFP to include the closure of Fayetteville Middle School consolidating the school into Fayetteville Elementary and Fayetteville High School; change/reconfiguration of Fayetteville Elementary from a K-5 school to a K-6 school and Fayetteville High School from a 9-12 school to a 7-12 school (this action will occur at the conclusion of the 2005-2006 school year and details of the closure and reconfigurations may be found in the attachment); and construction of a new elementary school in Oak Hill (upon completion of the new facility it will replace Oak Hill, Oak Hill East End and Scarbro Elementaries) (Attachment D)

  • Amendment to the Ohio County CEFP to include the revisions outlined in Attachment E

  • Amendment to the Raleigh County CEFP to include the building of a new office building for the transportation department. The construction cost for this project will be $199,730

  • Amendment to the Taylor County CEFP to include replacement of the plaster ceiling and other plaster repairs in the Grafton High School auditorium. A cost estimate has not yet been determined by the architectural firm, but should not exceed $500,000

Teacher Education Accreditation Council and State protocols for educator preparation program reviews effective January 13, 2006 (Attachment H)

  • Report on the Strategic Plan FY 2006 for the Office of Education Performance Audits (Attachment I).



Board Member Reports. President Johnson provided a report of activities undertaken since the Board's January meeting and appointed a Board Employee Evaluation Committee consisting of Ms. Phillips (chair), Mr. Dunlevy and Ms. Haden, charged with examining Board employee appraisal instruments and facilitating the evaluation process for 2006.

Communications Committee. Ms. Liza Cordeiro, Executive Director, Office of Communications, Superintendent's Office, distributed information and provided a report on behalf of the Communications Committee. (Copy appended to Official Minutes, Attachment J.)

RESA Committee. Mr. Spencer, committee chair, provided a report.

Legislative Monitoring Committee. Ms. Hatfield, committee chair, and Dr. Jack McClanahan, Deputy State Superintendent, distributed information and provided a report. During the presentation Dr. McClanahan removed from consideration the proposed revision of W. Va. Code 18A-4-1 (Definitions). (Copy appended to Official Minutes, Attachment K.)

Upon motion by Mrs. Cook, seconded by Ms. Phillips, the Board unanimously accepted the report as amended.



President Johnson called for a break at 10:25 a.m.


Call to Order

President Johnson called the meeting back to order at 10:43 a.m.


Reports (Continued)

High Schools for West Virginia's Future Task Force Committee. Ms. Haden, committee chair, provided a report and clarified pending action on Policy 4110, Attendance. Upon conferring with legal counsel it was decided that action regarding Policy 4110 delayed until the February 2006 meeting. Ms. Haden announced that the next committee meeting will be held on February 8, 2006 at 10:00 a.m. in Charleston, West Virginia.

Ms. Haden moved, and Ms. Phillips seconded, that the Board approve the attendance guidance report as presented at the January 11, 2006 meeting. The motion carried unanimously. (Copy appended to Official Minutes of January 11, 2006 at Attachment C.)

State Superintendent's Report. Superintendent Paine distributed an addendum to the Department personnel attachment for the Board's information, provided an informational update regarding Department matters and events, and requested that Dr. McClanahan address the Board regarding the retirement of two employees.

Dr. McClanahan announced the retirement, on or before June 30, 2006, of Mr. William K. "Bill" Grizzell, Superintendent of Lincoln County Schools, and Ms. Brenda Skibo, Superintendent of Mingo County Schools, and set forth the hiring procedure to be utilized in these instances. Superintendent Grizzell and Superintendent Skibo addressed the Board and provided updates and progress reports for their respective counties.

Superintendent Paine and President Johnson, on the Board's behalf, recognized Superintendent Grizzell and Superintendent Skibo for their many years of exemplary and dedicated service to the children and the State of West Virginia. (Copy appended to Official Minutes, Attachment L and addendum.)


WVBE Personnel

Dr. McClanahan presented the Board's personnel items for consideration.

Upon motion by Mr. Dunlevy, seconded by Ms. Phillips, the Board unanimously approved the personnel items. (Copy appended to Official Minutes, Attachment M.)


Board Items for Future Consideration

President Johnson addressed the Board and requested items to be considered for placement on a future agenda. Items for the February agenda include Policy 4110 and committee reports.


Future Meetings

The next regular meeting of the Board will be held February 8-9, 2006 in Charleston, West Virginia.



Upon motion by Mrs. Cook, seconded by Mr. Dunlevy and unanimously carried, the meeting adjourned at 11:24 a.m.

Minutes approved by the Board on February 9, 2006.


Lowell E. Johnson, President


Priscilla M. Haden, Secretary

Minutes were recorded by

Virginia M. Harris

Executive Secretary to

the Board.