Board Conference Room

Capitol Building 6, Room 353

1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East

Charleston, West Virginia

June 27, 2005


Call to Order

President Barbara N. Fish called the meeting of the West Virginia Board of Education to order at 2:00 p.m. on June 27, 2005, in the Board Conference Room, Capitol Building 6, Room 353, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia.

The following members were present: President Fish, Vice President Lowell E. Johnson, Secretary Priscilla M. Haden, Sandra M. Chapman, Delores W. Cook, Sheila M. Hamilton, Burma Hatfield, Jenny N. Phillips (via telephone), Ronald B. Spencer (via telephone), and ex officos David L. Stewart, State Superintendent of Schools, and James L. Skidmore (via telephone), Chancellor, the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education. Member absent was ex officio J. Michael Mullen, Chancellor, the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission.


Approval of Agenda

Upon motion by Dr. Johnson, seconded by Ms. Hatfield, the Board unanimously approved the agenda.


Selection of State Superintendent of Schools

Ms. Chapman addressed the assembly and called upon Dr. Stewart and Ms. Heather Deskins, staff attorney to the Board and Department, to provide clarification. Following discussion and upon the advice of Attorney Deskins that the Board deliberate regarding the applications received and vote in public session, Ms. Chapman moved, in accordance with W. Va. Code 6-9A-4(b)(2)(A), that the Board enter into executive session to discuss appropriate personnel matters. Mrs. Cook seconded the motion and it was carried with eleven members voting yes, and one member, Ms. Haden, voting no. The Board entered into executive session at 2:11 p.m.


Return from Executive Session

The Board returned from executive session at 2:40 p.m. at which time President Fish announced no action was taken and no decisions were made.

Following brief remarks, Ms. Chapman moved that Steven L. Paine, be named to the position of State Superintendent of Schools at the statutory salary limit effective July 1, 2005. Mrs. Cook seconded the motion and it was carried unanimously.


Future Meetings

The next regular meeting of the Board will be held July 13-14, 2005 in Charleston, West Virginia.



Upon motion by Dr. Johnson, seconded by Ms. Chapman, the meeting adjourned at 2:42 p.m.

Minutes approved by the Board on July 14, 2005.


Barbara N. Fish, President


Priscilla M. Haden, Secretary

Minutes were recorded by

Virginia M. Harris

Executive Secretary to

the Board.