Conference Room

West Virginia Secondary School Activities Commission

2875 Staunton Avenue

Parkersburg, West Virginia

June 13, 2005


Call to Order

Vice President Lowell E. Johnson called the meeting of the West Virginia Board of Education to order at 9:30 a.m. on June 13, 2005, in the Board Room, West Virginia Secondary School Activities Commission, 2875 Staunton Turnpike, Parkersburg, West Virginia.

The following members were present: Vice President Johnson, Secretary Priscilla M. Haden, Sandra M. Chapman, Delores W. Cook, Burma Hatfield, Jenny N. Phillips, and Ronald B. Spencer. Members absent were: President Barbara N. Fish, Sheila M. Hamilton and ex officios David L. Stewart, State Superintendent of Schools, J. Michael Mullen, Chancellor, the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission, and James L. Skidmore, Chancellor, the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education.


Approval of Agenda

Upon motion by Ms. Chapman, seconded by Ms. Haden, the Board unanimously approved the agenda.


Interviews for State Superintendent of Schools

With the advice of counsel and as provided in W. Va. Code 6-9A-4(b)(2)(A), Ms. Chapman moved that the Board enter into executive session to conduct interviews for the position of State Superintendent of Schools. Ms Haden seconded the motion and it was carried unanimously. The Board entered into executive session at 9:40 a.m.


Return from Executive Session

The Board returned from Executive Session at 4:43 p.m. which time Vice President Johnson announced no action was taken and no decisions were made.


Future Meetings

The next special meeting of the Board will be held June 18, 2005 at the Radisson Hotel in Morgantown, West Virginia. The next regular meeting of the Board will be held July 13-14, 2005 in Charleston, West Virginia.



Upon motion by Ms. Phillips, seconded by Ms. Hatfield, the Board adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Minutes approved by the Board on July 14, 2005.


Barbara N. Fish, President


Priscilla M. Haden, Secretary

Minutes were recorded by

Virginia M. Harris

Executive Secretary to

the Board.