Capitol Building 6, Room 353

1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East

Charleston, West Virginia

February 18, 2000


Call to Order

President Cleo P. Mathews called the special meeting of the West Virginia Board of Education to order at 3:10 p.m. on February 18, 2000, in Capitol Building 6, Room 353, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia. Members present were Vice-President Gary G. White (via telephone), Secretary J. D. Morris, Sandra M. Chapman, Sheila M. Hamilton, James J. MacCallum, Jim L. McKnight, Paul J. Morris, and Ronald B. Spencer.


New Business

President Mathews requested Board members to advise her of their availability to meet on March 8, 2000, with RESA Directors and also to discuss issues regarding coordinated staff development, the testing program and a West Virginia education summit. All present members advised that they could accommodate the March 8th date.


Executive Session

Upon motion by J. D. Morris, second by Paul J. Morris, and at the request of Dr. Marockie, in accordance with the provisions of W.Va. Code 6-9A-4, the Board moved into Executive Session, at 3:15 p.m., for the purpose of discussing a personnel matter.

The Board returned from Executive Session at 5:19 p.m. at which time President Mathews reported that no decisions were made and no business was transacted. On the Board's behalf, President Mathews released the following statement.

The Board had a frank discussion with Dr. Marockie concerning the situation of his continued employment and received an update on the investigation. We discussed the matter of his relationship with the legislature, the Governor's office, and the productivity and morale of the Department as it relates to his duties and the impact on the children of West Virginia.

With considerable concern the Board will continue to monitor the circumstances surrounding his employment, his leadership, and performance.

III. Adjournment

Upon motion by James J. MacCallum, second by Jim L. McKnight, the Board adjourned at approximately 5:21 p.m.

Minutes approved by the Board on March 9, 2000.


Cleo P. Mathews, President