Board Conference Room

Capitol Building 6, Room 353

1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East

Charleston, West Virginia

January 6, 2000


Call to Order

President Cleo P. Mathews called the special meeting of the West Virginia Board of Education to order at 4:00 p.m. on January 6, 2000 in the Board Conference Room, Capitol Building 6, Room 353, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East, Charleston, West Virginia. Members present were Vice-President Gary G. White, Secretary J. D. Morris, Sandra M. Chapman, Sheila M. Hamilton

( by telephone), James J. MacCallum, Jim L. McKnight, Paul J. Morris, and Ronald B. Spencer.

II. Approval of Agenda

Upon motion by Mr. White, second by Mr. J. D. Morris, the Board approved the agenda as presented.



President Mathews suggested that the Board move into executive session under W.Va. Code 6-9A-4(b)(2)(A) to discuss a personnel matter. Mr. White moved, second by Mr. McKnight, that the Board move into executive session to discuss a personnel matter under W.Va. Code 6-9A-4(b)(2)(A). Motion carried.

President Mathews recognized Eric Eyre, a reporter for the Charleston Gazette, who: stated his appreciation that the Board cited a Code section for its move to an executive session; indicated that the State Board "may" but is not required to enter into an executive session; stated that the person who is the subject of the discussion may choose to have the discussion in an open meeting; and requested a roll call vote on the motion.

President Mathews called for a roll call vote. All nine board members voted in favor of the motion.

Mr. Paul Morris inquired as to whether Dr. Marockie would prefer the discussion to be in executive session or in an open meeting. Dr. Marockie responded that he would prefer that the discussion be in executive session.

The Board entered into executive session at approximately 4:10 p.m.

The Board returned to regular session at approximately 5:35 p.m. President Mathews advised that no business was transacted and no decisions were made.

President Mathews read a statement, a copy of which is attached to and made a part of these Minutes.



Upon motion by Mr. J. D. Morris, second by Mr. Jim L. McKnight, the Board adjourned at approximately 5:40 p.m.

Minutes approved by the Board on January 13, 2000.

  Cleo P. Mathews, President