Skip Navigation
Assessment
Main Content

Smarter Balanced Digital Library

The Smarter Balanced Digital Library is an online platform that contains subject- and grade-specific instructional resources and professional learning resources that help educators apply the formative assessment process during daily instruction. The formative assessment process is key to a balanced assessment system. The Smarter Balanced Digital Library supports educators with the four attributes of formative assessment: Clarify Intended Learning, Elicit Evidence, Interpret Evidence and Act on Evidence.

More than 1,500 educators from 22 states, including West Virginia, with diverse areas of expertise have developed more than 2,600 instructional and professional learning resources posted in the Digital Library. These resources have passed multiple blind reviews against a rigorous set of Quality Criteria.

In addition to resources contributed by educators, the Digital Library contains interactive, multimedia modules built by experts. These modules include both subject and grade specific Exemplar Instructional Modules that model the formative assessment process; and Professional Learning Modules on Assessment Literacy designed to help educators deepen their understanding of the formative assessment process in daily instruction.

Another feature of the Digital Library is the opportunity for educators to collaborate with others. Through robust search and filtering features, educators can rate resources, share their first-hand experiences using the resources, start a collaboration target, and pose questions to their colleagues.

All educators with a k12 e-mail account has access to the Digital Library. The address for the Digital Library is https://www.smarterbalancedlibrary.org. For help in logging in to the Digital Library, contact Terri Sappington (tsapping@k12.wv.us) or Marlena Mullins (mdmullins@k12.wv.us).

The resources below are available for RESA, district, and schools to use as part of professional learning activities.

Document Type Document Name
PDF
Digital Libary_Finding Resources_Interactive Modules
PDF
Digital Libary_Finding Resources_Marking Favorites
PDF
Digital Libary_Navigating Resources_Locating Similar Resources
PDF
Digital Libary_Navigating Resources_Sharing Resources
PowerPoint
Digital Library - Balanced Assessment System Slides
PowerPoint
Digital Library Modules
PDF
Digital Library_Finding Resources_Locating_Resources
PDF
Digital Library_Navigating Resources_About this Resource Tab
PDF
Digital Library_Navigating Resources_Flagging An Issue
PDF
Digital Library_Navigating Resources_Viewing Resources
PDF
Digital Library Overview
PDF
Digital-Library-Informational-Handout
MS Word
Smarter Balanced Digital Library website page
PowerPoint
Using the Smarter Balanced Digital Library

Digital Library Tour: Logging Into the Digital Library and Finding Resources

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=howRkoMbNLo&feature=youtu.be

Digital Library Tour: Collaboration Features:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZIDusa3gszw&feature=youtu.be

West Virginia has a cadre of educators who have submitted resources for the Digital Library and review resources to ensure all resources posted are of the highest quality. These educators have been trained not only on how to write and review resources but on how to use the Digital Library. For assistance using the Digital Library, please contact one of the West Virginia State Network of Educators listed below.

West Virginia State Network of Educators
First Name Last Name Email County RESA
Jim Holland jholland@k12.wv.us Berkeley VIII
Myrtle Holland mholland@k12.wv.us Berkeley VIII
Terri VanderWijst tavey@k12.wv.us Berkeley VIII
Dorothy Kidd dkidd@k12.wv.us Brooke VI
Kyle Berry krberry@k12.wv.us Cabell II
Kirstin Sobotka ksobotka@k12.wv.us Cabell II
Tammy Yoak tyoak@k12.wv.us Calhoun V
Cathy Craddock cscraddo@k12.wv.us Clay III
Mary Ann Triplett matriple@k12.wv.us Clay III
Rosella Amos ramos@k12.wv.us Doddridge VII
Elizabeth Williams ecolley@k12.wv.us Fayette IV
Mary Humphreys mhumphre@k12.wv.us Greenbrier IV
Juanita Spinks jspinks@k12.wv.us Greenbrier IV
Stacey McKenzie slmckenz@k12.wv.us Hampshire VIII
Cecilia Jordan cjjordan@mail.kana.k12.wv.us Kanawha III
Kelley Norman knorman@kcs.kana.k12.wv.us Kanawha III
Jessica Phillips jbright@mail.kana.k12.wv.us Kanawha III
Jill Savage jsavage@mail.kana.k12.wv.us Kanawha III
Susan Sweat ssweat@mail.kana.k12.wv.us Kanawha III
Kelsey Gable kgable@k12.wv.us Lincoln II
Stephanie Workman sdworkman@k12.wv.us Lincoln II
Katie Carney kcarney@k12.wv.us Marshall VI
Holly Woods hwoods@k12.wv.us Marshall VI
Joann Schorsch jschorsch@k12.wv.us Mercer I
Elizabeth Keatley ekeatley@k12.wv.us Mingo II
Ashley White apwhite@k12.wv.us Mingo II
Roberta Tuggle btuggle@k12.wv.us Monroe I
Marsha Roth mroth@k12.wv.us Ohio VI
Joanna Burt-Kinderman jburtkinderman@k12.wv.us Pocahontas IV
Courtney Ruppert cruppert@k12.wv.us Putnam III
Adrienne Jordan-Brellahan adjordan@k12.wv.us Raleigh I
Cheryl Osborne mosborne@k12.wv.us Raleigh I
Paula Wykle pwykle@k12.wv.us Raleigh I
Cheryl Reger creger@k12.wv.us Upshur VII
Neil Reger nreger@k12.wv.us Upshur VII
Amy Moll amoll@k12.wv.us Webster IV
Timmothy Walker twalker@k12.wv.us Wirt V
Mary Blaker mblaker@k12.wv.us Wood V
Corinne Full cfull@k12.wv.us Wood V

 

For additional information regarding the Smarter Balanced Digital Library, please contact Terri Sappington (tsapping@k12.wv.us), Office of Assessment at, 304.558.2546. You also may contact any of the members of the State Leadership Team listed below.

West Virginia State Leadership Team: 

Sarah Beasley, sbeasley@concord.edu 
Cindy Burke, caburke@k12.wv.us 
Teresa Hammond, thammond@k12.wv.us
Jessica George, jlgeorge@k12.wv.us 
Vaughn Rhudy, vrhudy@k12.wv.us 
Valerie Wilson, vwilson@k12.wv.us